top of page

"Rotaract is more than just a service organization..."


Edith Ascencion (left), Solange Tadros (middle), Kevin Zepeda (back), Cristina Penaranda (right) at the End of the Year Banquet

Coming into UCI, as a first year, I had a very limited friend network and I joined Rotaract looking for an opportunity to make friends and serve my community. It immediately became much more than that though, and I found an opportunity for personal, professional and academic growth. Looking back at my experiences as a first year, I think Rotaract is more than just a service organization or an opportunity to make friends (which is not to say that I don't consider it that among other things) but rather, it means growth and change - and overall the idea that it allows the growth of our members which in turn facilitate the growth and change of people, communities, and ideas for the better.

bottom of page